Agreement Concluded The French And Indian War

The signing of the treaty ended the seven-year war, known as the French and Indian war in North American theatre,[1] and marked the beginning of an era of British domination outside Europe. [2] Britain and France each returned much of the territory they had conquered during the war, but Britain gained much of French ownership in North America. In addition, Britain agreed to protect Catholicism in the New World. The treaty did not include Prussia and Austria, since five days later they signed a separate agreement, the Treaty of Hubertusburg. The reaction of speculators and colonial border workers to this proclamation was extremely negative. From their point of view, during the last war, they risked their lives for the sole purpose of denying them the countries they coveted. Most of them concluded that the proclamation was only a temporary measure; a number completely ignored it and lured it to the no-go zone anyway. From the beginning, the proclamation was adapted to the needs of influential British people with interests in the American West, including many senior British officials and colonizers. Renowned American settlers joined speculators in Britain to lobby the government to move the line westward. As a result, the demarcation line has been adapted into a number of contracts. The American Indians involved in the Pontiac rebellion lived in a loosely defined region of New France known as the “Country from Above,” “The Oberland,” claimed by France until the Treaty of Paris of 1763. The tribes of the skin countries were made up of three basic groups. The first group included the great lakes tribes: the Ottawas, Ojibwas, Potawatomis and Hurons.

The second group consisted of eastern Illinois country tribes, including the Miami, Weas, Kickapoos, Mascoutens and Piankashaws. The two groups had a long-standing peace agreement with the French. The members of the third group were the Ohio Country tribes: the Delawares (Lenape), Shawnees, Wyandots and Mingos. These people had emigrated to the Ohio Valley at the turn of the century to escape British, French and Iroquise domination elsewhere, and had no strong relations with the British or French. Relations between British settlers and American Indians deteriorated further during the Pontiac Rebellion, and the British government concluded that the settlers had to be distinguished from the American Indians. On October 17, 1763, the Crown made the Royal Proclamation of 1763 to reorganize British North America under the Treaty of Paris. Officials drew a boundary between the British colonies along the coast and the American Indian countries west of the Appalachians, creating a giant (and temporary) Indian reserve that stretched from the Appalachians to the Mississippi River and from Florida to Quebec. This border should never be permanent, but it was created as a means of allowing the UK to expand westward in a more organized way. The Treaty of Paris, also known as the Treaty of 1763, was signed on 10 February 1763 by the kingdoms of Great Britain, France and Spain, with Portugal agreeing with Portugal after the victory of Great Britain and Prussia over France and Spain during the seven-year war. The Treaty of Paris is often cited as the France that Louisiana gives to Spain.

[9] [10] The transfer agreement had, however, been concluded with the contract of Fontainebleau (1762), but was not made public until 1764. The Treaty of Paris gave the United Kingdom the eastern side of the Mississippi (including Baton Rouge, Louisiana, which was to be part of the British territory of West Florida). New Orleans, on the east side, remained in the hands of France (albeit temporarily). The Mississippi River corridor in today`s Louisiana was reinstated later after the purchase of Louisiana in 1803 and the Adams-Ons contract in 1819. The French irregular forces (Canadian and Indian watchers) harassed Fort William Henry during the first half of 1757.